Rilakkuma store in Tokyo

13 Jun

rilakkuma-note

rilakkuma-store-entrance It’s been over 3 months or so since Rilakkuma store opened in Tokyo. To be exact, I should say “the one opened in Tokyo station”, because there is Kiddy Land in Harajuku already that sells many of Rilakkuma goods. I knew there was a Rilakkuma store in Osaka, which I tried to drop by when I went to Osaka in January 2009, as I was blogging about it but I failed to.

Rilakkuma store opened at underground of Tokyo station around the end of February 2009, if I was correct. But I do not go to Tokyo station or Marunouchi district so often as I do to Shibuya, Harajuku or Shinjuku. I really had no chance to visit the store until recently.

Maybe it was because of the time I stayed in the store, but there were so many people shopping at the store, as you can see from the photos. Some were from other parts of Japan, some were men after work, and some were from other Asian countries. There were old ladies in their 60’s or even more than that, too. Actually I was quite surprised to see there were middle-aged men seriously shopping Rilakkuma! That’s so cute! They may choose souvenirs for their kids or wife, but they may be buying the goods for themselves. Who knows? I like that. 🙂

I heard some chatting like “I wish I were living in Tokyo…” who might be from somewhere far from Tokyo. Then I knew I found one of the reasons Rilakkuma store should be located in Tokyo station. That’s a terminal station of bullet train (Shinkansen) and also is connected with a lot of other lines. Literally, Tokyo station is the center station. I was almost forgetting about that, since that part of Tokyo is not my place to shop. I’d shop at south-west part of Tokyo (Shibuya, Harajuku, Aoyama, Meguro, Roppongi, Ebisu, Shinjuku…for example) than others, because that’s closer to my house. :p

rilakkuma-store-inside
cute-rilakkuma-goods

I’ll be sharing other photos at my flickr page so you might wanna check them out later, too. People may have thought I was a girl from some countryside who were so keen to taking photos of the store. hehehe…who cares? Look at the goods I bought from the store! They are so cute, although I wonder in what occasion I would use a letter set now that I end up with writing emails instead of letters like this. 😆 The little stickers are deco parts, for mobile phone or Nintendo DS, for example. I was not sure if I really go for decoden, but I couldn’t resist its cuteness. :p

17 Responses to “Rilakkuma store in Tokyo”

  1. Tom June 14, 2009 at 12:14 am #

    Rilakkuma looks a lot like Gloomy. http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r75/yoporsiemp

    Do you know which came first?

    • kirin June 14, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

      Ah~, it's what you call "Gloomy bear". Well I don't know which was first…
      Tom, I tried to leave you a comment in your blog post the other day, but it didn't work. These days sometimes I end up with error when I post a comment at blogger blogs. 😦

  2. Cherry June 14, 2009 at 10:24 am #

    OMG soo~ wonderful!!!! ❤ In Poland, we haven't got such shops! *crying*

    • kirin June 14, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

      Don't worry, you can enjoy online shopping nowadays. 🙂 At the sidebar of this blog, you can find "Shop in Japan" and red banner with some Japanese characters. This is the biggest online shopping mall named "Rakuten" in Japan and they have automatic English translations (this is so bad though…) for those who live overseas to shop from Japan!
      You have to be old enough to have a credit card of your own though… :p

  3. Reita June 14, 2009 at 11:05 am #

    How cute~ I love Rilakkuma! >__<

  4. Benjamin Cip June 14, 2009 at 6:51 pm #

    I'd love to go there once I'll go back to Japan! That's sooooooo cute! Kawaiiiii—! Plus I like Harajuku! When I go to Japan, I stay in Yokohama which is close to Tokyo 🙂 So I won't get trouble going to Harajuku! yeah—!

    • kirin June 15, 2009 at 9:27 am #

      You'll then figure out geographically where I'm located. I'd say I'm in between Shibuya and Yokohama. It's Kawasaki. There's a Tamagawa river near my house and over there across the river, it's Tokyo. 😉
      If you stay in Yokohama next time again, it's easy access by JR Tokaido line from Yokohama to Tokyo station directly, anyway. You miss the time you were here, huh? :p

  5. Benjamin Cip June 15, 2009 at 3:29 pm #

    I wanted to live in Japan, but it's difficult to get a full time work for a foreigner there. I hope I'll be able to live in Japan from my blog someday 🙂

    • kirin June 16, 2009 at 4:01 am #

      Cool~! I like that! xD

  6. Yoj January 26, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    Oh my, I love love love Rilakkuma! That shop is heaven for Rilakkuma lovers! He's one good reason why I should be living in Japan. LOL.

    The stickers look awesome for cellphone decoration. I put plastic stickers at the back of my phone, and those would really be nice additions to the ones I already have!

    Thanks for sharing!

    P.S.
    I used some of your photos for one of my blog posts, with credit, of course… Feel free to visit!

    • kirin January 27, 2010 at 1:30 am #

      Thank you your visit, Yoj. Thanks for crediting on the photos at Flickr. If you like Rilakkuma so much, you should save money and come to Japan!! ^ ^

      • Yoj January 27, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

        I know I should visit Japan, there's so much to see, and so many Rilakkuma stuff to drool over! I'd better get started saving soon! ^ ^

  7. karina March 6, 2010 at 2:05 am #

    it's amazing how u got so many pictures!!!! i'd get pounced on by security guards asking me to stop / leave the shop / take my phone off of me or camera or whatever i'm using or tell me to delete my pictures.

    taking photos is a BIG no no.

    u get in very big trouble for it…i still do sometimes 😛 the key is to be sneaky…and for your own sake -> NEVER GET CAUGHT! and hope no one is watching u on CCTV… 😉

    i don't know if it's actually against the law?? it's up to the shop i guess and they're all kinda stingy here…

    • kirin March 7, 2010 at 7:27 am #

      I think I asked permission first at that time and they said OK to take photos.
      It's not against law, most of the shops just don't want their goods to be taken photos because they are afraid of spying? I'm not sure why they are so strict against that. First of all I will tell them my purpose of taking photos.

  8. lover of rilkumma May 27, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    sent them all to me i love all this'

  9. i<3japan May 7, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    i love japan its amazing the problem is i havent been their but i love kawaii and rillakuma and hello kitty and i wish to go their because in my country there is no hello kitty and all nice things 😦 ❤

    • kirin May 8, 2011 at 6:34 am #

      Please come to Japan and enjoy shopping here. I'm sure you will be surpried with so many kawaii things besides Hello Kitty, Rilakkuma, and some well-known characters. I can see how many people are addictive and come back to Japan every single/other year. ^ ^;

Leave a Reply

