Is FOREVER21 successful this time?

10 May

The very 1st FOREVER21 shop in Japan opened 29th April in Harajuku, Tokyo. I’ve never been there yet, but I can hear good news about it.

According to this video, FOREVER21 arrived in Japan 9 years ago but they failed in Japanese market. So this time they stress advertisement unlike their marketing policy in other countries.

In fact, there are many famous global companies that are doing well overseas somehow failed in Japanese market. I remember IKEA was also like FOREVER21. They once failed and were withdrawn from our market but several years ago they came back and I know they are doing pretty well since then. ๐Ÿ™‚

Coincidently they (FOREVER21 and IKEA) are both dealing with products for budget prices. But I don’t mean that. I think Japanese market is a little bit unique compared to others. ๐Ÿ˜› FOREVER21, H&M, Uniqlo…they are called fast fashion just like fast food. Fast food is not always good for health, but fast fashion is OK as long as they are kawaii (cute) to me! What do you think? How the things are in your country?

17 Responses to “Is FOREVER21 successful this time?”

  1. Lisa May 10, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    I agree, as long as it’s cute, it’s ok with me! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I think it’s very easy these days to choose and combine different items of clothing – different styles, prices and quality. So you can really have a great and diverse wardrobe for less money!
    Thank you as usual for interesting video footage! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. kirin May 11, 2009 at 5:46 am #

    @Lisa,

    Exactly! I agree with you. We’ve got so many options to choose from! ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Dutchie May 11, 2009 at 2:54 pm #

    Hi Kirin,

    Goods sold here r sturdy n rather mature for my taste. I guess they rather hv things that would last for generations – haha. My in-law has a baby crib that granddad made 100yrs ago n it’s passed around whenever there’s a baby borned – just to give u an example. I would hv preferred the latest n cutest crib if I were to hv a baby, to be honest (n no, I’m not having one)

    Most homes here r equipped with dark solid furniture. I’m trying bit by bit to hv them replaced by lighter colors as we spent many months in grey n cold weather. Colors within a home would help to brighten up our days – at least it does for me ๐Ÿ™‚

    I actually shop for nice things (especially clothes n accessories) when I go to Singapore for a visit. The trends there move much faster. U might hv heard that Singaporeans like to eat n shop on weekends bec there’s not much else to do on a small island ;-P

  4. Walter May 12, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

    Hi Kirin, we have H&M here in nearly every town and a few other budget fashion stores, C&A ,Zara, etc..
    I like the IKEA shops, they have several very large shops in Belgium and I have already bought a number of items there, because their range of furniture is very complete and you can check online how many of the item you want is in stock, so you don’t need to drive there and come back with half the things you need. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. kirin May 12, 2009 at 10:58 pm #

    @Dutchie,

    I can imagine the place you are located is much different from your home, Singapore. I heard that Scandinavian people prefer to have bright colored fabric, such as “marimekko” and light colored furniture for the same reason you mentioned. In fact, Scandinavian furniture or goods are pretty much loved in Japan for its cuteness (being “kawaii”!).

    As for Singapore, I heard we’ll be fined if we throw away rubbish on the streets. Is that right? We in Japan do not get fined but there are so many people who throw away rubbish, even at beaches! or spit on to the trees and flowers along with streets and so… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ we should need fined! ๐Ÿ‘ฟ
    Another reason for this might be that we rarely can find dust boxes set by government at public spaces such as bus stop or park and some people do not want to hold rubbish until they go home and so they just throw it on the streets… โ“

    @Walter,

    Even though these brands (IKEA or H&M) are so popular around so many countries, somehow it took a long long time to get the first store opened in Japan. IKEA is now doing successfully in Japan but yet it’s just first 5 years or so since it’s opened the 1st store in Japan. H&M opened their 1st store in Harajuku but that was also quite recently (last year or so) while UNIQLO is already everywhere! I heard in Europe there’s UNIQLO in London, but I wonder if they are expanding their new shops out there… โ“

  6. Dutchie May 13, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    Haha, Kirin …. SG is also known as a “fine” city bec there is a penalty for every offense in public. It’s an effective way to keep a densely populated city clean but there r people who totally ignore the “fine”signs n dumped their food wrappers or sigarette butts on the streets. The fine is S$ 200 to 500.

    SG is a fine place for vacations. Every stretch of the pavement is filled with malls, eateries, clubs n sightseeings. U will be overwhelmed, like we did in Shinjuku !

  7. Markie May 14, 2009 at 6:15 am #

    Hi Kirin! I found your blog on accident somehowโ™ฅ Thank you for posting this and the ๆฑไบฌ๏ฝถ๏พœ๏ฝฒ๏ฝฒ videos! I’m going to watch that show all the time now!!

    I’m from the US and there is a Forever21 in my city….it’s my favorite store. Unless you go to a boutique, I think most clothing stores here (like F21, H&M, Charlotte Russe or Wet Seal) are “fast fashion”. I guess it’s just the American way ๐Ÿ™‚

    It’s so funny how the Japanese people make such a big deal about how cheap the clothing is. ๏ฝขๅฎ‰ใƒผใ„!!ใ€ I laughed every time. I guess when you are used to ใƒ–ใƒฉใƒณใƒ‰ then it looks pretty cheap, but for me ๏ฟฅ8000 for an outfit sounds pretty expensive… I’m kind of ใ‘ใก though, haha.

    I really like your blog. I’ll be watching it from now on!! ๏พ–๏พ›๏ฝผ๏ฝธใญโ˜…

    • kirin June 7, 2009 at 4:12 pm #

      I thought I replied to you, but seems like not yet.
      Thank you for your comment here and sorry for not replying to you.
      Sometimes I'm just confused with emails or comments or messages from various places such as blog, twitter, flickr, etc. and I may miss one or two of them. :p

      I think apparel is rather too expensive, too. Why a single skirt costs almost like US$100 equivalent yen in Japan? I used to shop crazy spending most of my earned money for what I wear, but not any longer and it's been a while since I settled at Uniqlo for fast fashion. But if I go to some famous brands, they look so cute with good design, but I just don't feel like spending handsome money just to get them any more…ใ€€ใ“ใกใ‚‰ใ“ใใ€ใƒจใƒญใ‚ทใ‚ฏ๏ผ๏ผใ‚ณใƒกใƒณใƒˆใ‚ใ‚ŠใŒใจใ†ใ€‚

  8. Sing Yee May 16, 2009 at 3:26 pm #

    Hi kirin!

    Wow…. Forever21 a fast fashion? It’s like a high-end fashion here in Malaysia. The same goes for Topshop, Zara, Miss Sixty, Dorothy Perkins and the like. But I guess with the lifestyle and living costs in Japan, it is understandable that these are considered inexpensive.

    IKEA is also very much THE source for stylish furniture in Malaysia. ^-^” When one mentioned that such-and-such piece of furniture is bought from IKEA, the immediate impression would be “nice! must be of good quality!”. I understand that IKEA is considered a budget furniture shop in European countries. ^-^” How very different things are in different countries. ๐Ÿ˜›

  9. kirin May 16, 2009 at 11:17 pm #

    @Sing Yee,

    Hi Sing Yee, thanks for sharing an interesting comment. ๐Ÿ˜€
    It’s remarkable we can have total items from head to toe for under 10,000yen (=about US$100) at Forever21. That’s because usually 1 item (only a skirt or pants) could cost 7,000 – 10,000yen in Japan, if we buy them at department stores such as Marui.

    I’ve been thinking that’s fairly too expensive. When at summer or winter big sale, people say they get things at half price, but I think that still allows enough profit for the brand or the manufacturer. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    When I was young, like at your age, I was crazy spending most of the money into kawaii clothing. Forever21 should have been here those days.

  10. Angel June 7, 2009 at 7:18 am #

    I love Forever 21! I think the fashions are very cute! I think that Forever 21 is probably the cutest store in my city's mall. I really like their accessories too!
    I would love to go shopping in Japan though. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • kirin June 7, 2009 at 4:15 pm #

      Hi Angel, thanks for your comment.
      Oh, so you are interested in shopping in Japan? Shopping cute things in Japan can be addictive! xD

  11. Caroline July 8, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

    I love Forever21! Ever since they arrived in Toronto, I have been going/shopping there every weekend! They get new stuff almost everyday and they go out really fast, especially x-small and small sizes. I had my eyes on this really cute dress and when I came back after 2 hours all of them were gone! The downtown Toronto store is always crowded and has a crazy lineup.

    You can get a whole outfit under $50. Dresses usually priced around $20 to $30. Jeans from $15 to $40. T-shirts from $10. Their jewrelly usually priced under $15. Bargain! I'd rather not spend $$$ on trendy items that will go out of fashion in two months.

    I have been checking out forever21 japanes website and I think they have more cute stuff than in Canada, and cheaper too. I wonder if they sell the same things in different countries.

    • kirin July 8, 2009 at 11:50 pm #

      Hi Caroline. Thank you for your comment.
      Sounds like it's cheaper out there, because I doubt if we can get a whole outfit under $50. But well, it depends as you know, if I include small items such as hat and accessories, the total reaches $80 or $90, yet still under $100 though…

      I've never thought of any difference among countries, because I thought the brand is worldwide just like Mc. Donald's or Starbucks, but there maybe some difference…like we have teriyaki burger as a regular menu in Japan? :p

      • Caroline July 9, 2009 at 5:04 pm #

        Hey Kirin,

        May be $50 is a bit of an exaggeration. But still, it would be definitely under $100. I was looking at the Japanese F21 website and the items seemed to be cheaper accounting for the exchange rate. Maybe it's Canada that's more expensive. May be they have the same stuff but getting them at differen time since the clothing turnover is really high at F21. I went to a H&M in Shanghai they had the same items as the ones in Canada.

        Btw, when getting jeans from Forever 21, make sure that they don't stink. I got a pair of black jeans from F21, and when I tried it on at home, it smelled really bad. I ended up wearing it only once and was too lazy to return it. I washed it 5 times and also left it outside in – 30 degrees for days to get the smell out, but of course nothing worked. Oh the colour faded really quickly too and stretched out. So the lesson learned was when it comes to jeans I'd rather spend $$$ and get designer jeans.

        by the way, I love your blog ๐Ÿ™‚

      • kirin July 10, 2009 at 8:45 am #

        According to exchange rate…I see. Nowadays Japanese yen is very strong, that's why. To me, how much I wish I can travel abroad since last year. Europe, U.S, Oceania…their currencies look like bargain price to me. ๐Ÿ˜†

        Thank you for your tips on their jeans. I have to wait a long line to shop out there, so I wonder when it'll be less crowded…:(

        Glad to hear that you love my blog. (If you have any specific topic you want me to deal with, feel free to write to me! ) I enjoyed your comment. Thank you so much!

  12. Shaun Sauvageau August 25, 2012 at 3:59 am #

    Comfortable post, i surely love the site, continue on it.

Leave a Reply

