The cutest collaboration, hat & sweets deco!

25 Apr
with-kinako-san-and-inko-san The other day, my friend from university invited me to this cutest exhibition of two great artists; Kinako-san a.k.a a queen of sweets decoration, who is already introcued in the handmade episode from Tokyo Kawaii TV, and Inko-san, a great knit hat designer especially good at Gothloli (Gothic & Lolita) taste. This exhibition displays Inko-san’s hats decorated by Kinako-san’s sweets decoration.

Look at the small cakes that are made of clay. They look so cute. In fact, Kinako-san publishes books on how to make these clay-made cupcakes, etc.

The hats were so unique and cute! We were allowed to try and take photos, so I took a photo of myself. (I’m not photogenic, don’t blame me, please! 😳 At this time, my friends were having a spot lesson to make small cute knitting, but I was playing alone by myself, not participating the class because I am not good at knitting, sewing, and etc. I’m not used to taking photos of myself with my moble phone camera, unlike younger generation! 😆 ) So, anyway this hat for example was interesting. It got a story and the story goes around the hat with cute decorations all over it.

This exhibition took place at ABC craft, on the 3rd basement floor at Mitsukoshi Alcot, Shinjuku (Tokyo) from 17 to 22 April 2009. We were lucky we could see both of the artists in person (and a picture with them)!

I can see these days in Japan sweets deco or decoration with bling-bling stones a.k.a decoden are so popular. ABC craft is a place to sell small parts for such decorations. I actually found so many small cute things out there. :p

this-is-sweets-deco
sweets-deco-books
trying-a-soda-hat story-hat-front
kinakoinko
10 Responses to “The cutest collaboration, hat & sweets deco!”

  1. Lala April 25, 2009 at 11:03 pm #

    Lovely! ! I wish I could buy those books.. I’ll do anything to have at least one copy 😥

  2. kirin April 26, 2009 at 1:30 pm #

    @Lala,

    I’m considering to open “Buy It For Me!” service in my blog. As I’m located in Tokyo, I have many kawaii (cute) goods available at hand any time. So, what I’m planning now is to open “Kawaii Gallery” where I display kawaii goods pictures and these books can be included there. You may therefore, visit there, apply from the application form that I will prepare, and pay me in advance by paypal (cost of the item + my handling charge + shipping charge), which I also have to prepare. Then I will go get it, and send it to you.

    I’ve been actually wondering if this works. I was also not sure if you can get the clay or tools that are needed to make sweets deco in your country, even after you can get these books. Books are written in Japanese but there are many pictures from which you can understand or guess even though you don’t get our language.

    It’d be nice if you could let me have your opinion on this, because I’m considering this service very seriously these days. I’m not an owner of on-line shop, and so, I cannot take risk of stocking items. I will go get the items on demand after I receive orders with advanced payment.
    This means, when I find no stock at stores, I have to ask you to wait. What do you think? I wonder if people are still interested in such service or they may feel unstable or less secured about it. 🙄

  3. Walter April 26, 2009 at 9:07 pm #

    Wow, Kirin-san , cool : you got your picture taken with Kinako-san and Inko-san 😯 .
    What on earth do you mean : I think you are totally photogenic : wearing such an extraordinary hat with a straight face is so kawaii ❗ ( and also funny : are you doing a Buster Keaton impression ? ) 😎

  4. kirin April 27, 2009 at 1:52 am #

    @Walter,

    Thanks (^_^;) I’m planning to film myself on Youtube and run it in this blog in the near future so that you can see how I am before you might see me in person when you come to Japan. 😛

  5. Sing Yee April 28, 2009 at 5:39 am #

    Hi kirin,

    Oh the sundae hat looks cute on you. 😀 I think I’ll go hyper-crazy if I were there. ^-^”

    Please do proceed with this idea of ‘helping-to-purchase’! I’ve actually wanted to ask you if you could get me some of the things I so badly want from Japan, but was thinking probably it wouldn’t be too convenient for you. Now you mentioned it, it’ll be great if you could provide such a service for us helpless Japan-fans!

  6. kirin April 28, 2009 at 10:21 am #

    @Sing Yee,

    Oh, what’s wrong with your link?
    I reached unfamiliar site thru your link (above signature) due to misspelling, maybe?

    Anyway, glad to hear from you on my idea.
    I’d like to send you an email personally to exchange opinions with you on this matter later. Thank you so much for your comment here. (^0^)/~talk to you later~!

  7. Lynn June 24, 2009 at 4:42 pm #

    Woah! The hats look really very cute!! And I adore Kinako sensei alot<3 I bought her books and love it alot!!
    My parents are going to Japan near of the month and I really want to get some materials to decorate my phone for myself^^Is it possible for you to recommend some deco-den craft stores that sells those cute items in bulk? Thank you^^

    • kirin June 25, 2009 at 1:46 am #

      Hi Lynn. Thanks for your comment here.
      If you want to buy decoden crafts, try this ABC craft (where this exhibition was held). It's in Shinjuku Mitsukoshi department. (I'm sure you'll find it in your guidebook. It's east exit of JR Shinjuku train station.) If you look for a bling-bling type of decoration only, then you can also check out the store named "Bling Me!" in Marui Curren (as I've introduced in my old post: http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/1740) . Tokyu Hands (in Shinjuku south exit) also has deco goods and I bought my deco sticker and rhinestones there. (I mean this one: http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/2251)

      Regardless of decoden, I'm sure you'll enjoy Tokyu Hands a lot. They have many interesting goods and toys.
      100 yen shop is another option. 😉 There are many fun places to shop over here. Hope you can find what you are looking for!

  8. Lynn June 25, 2009 at 5:04 am #

    Thank you for the advices, Kirin san!~ I'll try to get my parents to buy it for me(if they have the time)^^

    Sorry to be rude. I saw your previous comment on "Buy It For Me!" service. I'm wondering if you could help me get the decorations if it's convenient for you? I'm thinking of setting up a small online store for people as it's really difficult to find deco-den materials in my country>.<

    • kirin June 25, 2009 at 1:38 pm #

      Hi Lynn.
      As for "Buy It For Me!" service I was considering, I found some problems in advance.

      1) Things might cost more expensive in Japan than they are in your country. This means retail price + handling charge + shipping charge = a lot more than your customers may want to pay. This could highly be possible especially if you are from Asian country, according to my experience so far.

      2) Payment. You may not feel comfortable with advanced payment when it comes to personal service. I actually thought of opening my ebay shop so that you'd feel more comfortable and safe for payment and shopping. But as it turned out, I don't want to go for low-price competition at ebay, and so since then I was thinking this service might not work out. 😦

      But if you are seriously considering to ask any help from me on this case, please write to me from CONTACT form at the right top bottom of the header banner. 😉 Then I'll see how things work out between us.

Leave a Reply

