Cherry blossoms in full bloom, spring 2009

6 Apr
e382b3e38394e383bc-efbd9e-my-lunch-under-sakura-today I live somewhere 30 min. to Shibuya or Shinjuku (Tokyo) but 5 min. on foot to the park like this. This park is the place I walk my dog, Pi-chan everyday. I love this season because Sakura (=cherry blossoms) are really so beautiful!

Today I grabbed my lunch at Mc.Donald’s and had a Ohanami (=cherry blossom appreciation)lunch under some cherry trees, after I left Pi-chan at home. I work from home and that enables me to have free time during daytime. Over the last weekend, I went to this park to find there were so many people going for Ohanami! My hubby, Pi-chan and I brought Obento (=lunch box) from home and sit on the grass, to appreciate Sakura, but the place was already so crowded with peple that we stayed a bit away from cherry blossoms. When I went back to the park again by myself today (it’s Monday) there was so much vacant place left and so I decided to have Ohanami by myself.

First & second photos are taken today, and 3rd & 4th photos are from last weekend, meaning day before yesterday.

happy-dog-walk-in-cherry-blossoms
many-people-go-for-ohanami
ohanami-lunch-with-pino
9 Responses to “Cherry blossoms in full bloom, spring 2009”

  1. Walter April 6, 2009 at 9:25 pm #

    😀
    Ooh! Bento. 😯
    The weather looks nice 😎

    We have Japanese cherry trees ( Prunus sato-zakura) in Belgium. You can tell because they blossom first and the big pink flowers fall off quickly.
    I have three cherry trees (Prunus avium) in my garden but not sakura tree. They’re just now beginning to get blossoms.
    Do you think I could have Ohanami admiring a normal cherry tree blossom ?
    It would be a nice excuse to finally use the bento box I have bought at Japan center in London.
    Did you know that prune , apricot , almond , nectarine and peach trees all belong to the Prunus species ❓

  2. Riko April 7, 2009 at 10:21 am #

    Konnichiwa Kirin-san!
    Ogenki? uwaaa…..the pictures are so beautiful, kirei. I bet it would be more beautiful if i can see it there.
    Ohanami? o, yeah, i heard that before, sitting down under the sakura tree would be so much relaxing…heheh….

  3. Destiny April 9, 2009 at 5:09 pm #

    So beautiful!! I was hoping that I was going to be able to make it back this spring to Japan to view the Cherry Blossom Festival… it might have to be next year :*(

  4. Natasja April 10, 2009 at 10:34 am #

    Konnichiwa, thank you very much much for your sweet message on my blog! I’ve visited your site before and really like it. If you would like to we can make a link exchange. I will add your website this weekend. Happy easter and happy sakura picnics 🙂 The blossom trees look lovely <3.

  5. kirin April 10, 2009 at 11:36 am #

    @Walter,

    Ah~, I realized I know only Japanese cherry trees, and never thought of “normal” cherry trees. 😆
    Also, I didn’t know prune, almond, etc., etc…as you mention above all belong to Prunus species!! 🙄

    @Riko,

    That’s right. 😛 I wish I could share the scenery with video, and I actually filmed, but I wonder if I can find any extra time to edit it and run it here.

    @ Destiny,

    Hi, Destiny. It’s been a while. Actually I sometimes try to visit your blog, but somehow it takes long time until your site appears on my computer, and finally it gets frozen. When that happens, I have to quit and shut down immediately. So… 😦 Is this because my laptop is kinda old one? Anyone said anything like that to you so far?

    @Natasja,

    Konnichiwa~ & Arigato~ Wow, I’m glad to hear from you, and thank you for the ex-links. I’ll add your links at my “links” page.

  6. Rosita April 10, 2009 at 5:21 pm #

    Hi Kirin;

    Beautiful, it doesn’t look crowded. I hope we will meet you. With also I think the doughnut in bath must be fun FOR KIDS and they will EAT IT…I haven;t seen yr posting about hotspring, can you tell us if we have 2-3 days in Tokyo where is the hot springs and is it enough time to visit Kyoto or other places of interest.
    Arigato Kirin

  7. kirin April 11, 2009 at 3:28 pm #

    @Rosita,

    My posts about hot spring is here,
    http://tokyokawaiietc.com/travel-in-japan

    Onsen means hot spring in Japanese. But you have to know in Japan people bathe in naked, unlike spa at Western countries.
    But don’t worry, men and women are separated.
    At the same time though, if you choose private Onsen, just like the one introduced in this post,

    http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/1597

    You can share Onsen with your boyfriend or girlfriend only, no other people will join there. The post was about a small Onsen hotel that accommodate dogs as well, but we have such private Onsen popular across the country.

    Speaking about Onsen in Tokyo, there are some as in the below website. (in Japanese)

    http://www21.ocn.ne.jp/~spa-mich/todofuken/tokyo/tokyo.htm

    I suggest you google “Tokyo Onsen” and you’ll find some useful info. For example this site explains well.

    http://www.secret-japan.com/forum/onsen-in-and-around-tokyo-t312.html

    Actually I’ve never been to Onsen in Tokyo. Tokyo and Onsen didn’t get connected to me. 😛 Tokyo is always a place to work, shop, and have some fun to me, so…

    Kyoto is about 2.5 hours by bullet train from Tokyo. You can make it, but if you have only a couple of days available, I think it’s too much if you travel from east Japan to west Japan. In terms of excursion, you could try Yokohama, Tochigi, Gunma, or Yamanashi, etc., which are all close to Tokyo area. Well, that’s just my opinion. I just hope your trip will be something good when you look back in the future.

    Take care, and have a good trip, Rosita.

  8. Walter April 17, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    Hi Kirin,
    the weather here has been fine this week and the cherry trees are blossoming, so I had a Cherry Blossom admiration session in my own garden with Belgian ingredients, 😀 .
    See my post at http://brandnewbearings.blogspot.com/2009/04/easter-monday-cherry-blossom-viewing.html

  9. kirin April 20, 2009 at 1:34 pm #

    @Walter,

    Thanks for sharing your Ohanami experience with me, which is very unique and sounds good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

