Worst economy, more homeless people

6 Mar

homeless-from-today1 I like browsing book stores to see what’s going on in our society, what’s up and what’s hot, etc…In this blog, I am mostly writing kawaii stuff, fun things, and nice experiences to share with my blog readers. But these days I feel like writing the dark side of Japanese society as well, since I receive emails from young people who are eagar to move to Japan in the future, being totally obsessed with kawaii culture.

I know things are getting harder and harder in Japan due to economy recession that is strongly affected by the U.S subprime mortgage issue, especially since Lehman Brothers bankruptcy. Japan is such a nation that is strongly supported by exporting business as represented by TOYOTA, too strong YEN causes critical damage to our market, economy, and our life in the end.

The other day, my eyes were caught by the book in the photo, saying “I become homeless today”. When I rougly read some pages, I found the people introduced in the book are originally working for a big named company and drawing a high salary. But something went wrong with them at some point in their life, which had quite a big effect from economy recession especially since last year. This book seemed to be published some time ago, but the reality spoken inside it is still “available” today.

Worst economy situation brings many homeless people, who try to make living by robbery, fraud, and murder. They never intended to be so. I just hope this darkest days will finally end and we recover from recession as soon as possible.

7 Responses to “Worst economy, more homeless people”

  1. Walter March 6, 2009 at 3:41 pm #

    😦 Thank you , Kirin, for showing us the less bright sides of Japan.
    I found this article stating that the 15000 homeless in Japan may increase to 30000 because of loss of jobs.
    http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5grry0O_NdcIHX1Oc9e-JCBJS2k2AD96CPTK00

    Still, it’s statistically better than the almost 20000 homeless in Belgium ( population 10,5 Million ).
    Things will get worse before they get better. I feel it will take at least two years of decline before it gets better. πŸ˜₯
    Let’s keep positive : better days will come.

  2. Walter March 6, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

    Adding to my first comment ,
    perhaps the situation in Japan can’t be compared to ours.
    In Belgium , homeless or out of work legal residents , who can’t earn a minimum wage get supported by the OCMW , which provides a minimum of housing,food, clothing , etc..
    I haven’t a clue what homeless people in Japan have in way of social security.

  3. robert-Gilles Martineau March 7, 2009 at 5:12 am #

    Dear Kirin!
    Greetings!
    Long time, no hear!
    I hope everything is fine with you!
    About your posting, I know that times are tough, but sometimes such a situation can also become an occasion to start on new ideas and look at other possibilities. It is when people have grown too complacent with an eventless (even if rich) life that they find it impossible to stand back on their legs….
    Just let’s hope all goes for the best soon!
    Cheers,
    Robert-Gilles πŸ˜›

  4. kirin March 7, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

    @Walter,

    Thanks for the link that explains more about the background.
    In Japan, basically anyone can apply for welfare benefits and nobody should live like under human beings. But when I listened to the news yesterday, it’s said that the number of applications submitted are largest in its history today, and some of them are actually declined.

    Sometimes non-profit organizations help free meals and temporary home, but I can feel the number of homeless people are growing more and more, when I think of my childhood, it was very rare to see or hear “homeless”.

    @Robert-Gilles,

    Hello, again! Yeah, it’s been a while.
    Thanks for your visit to my blog again. πŸ˜›
    As you say, now is the hardest time but when we change our point of view, this could be a chance to start up something. I started to practice (demo trade) day trading Nikkei225 since Nov. 2008 so that I get skilled by the time the market recovers. πŸ˜›

  5. Tom March 7, 2009 at 9:54 pm #

    I hope so too, but I’m preparing for a rough few years.

  6. Prometheus March 10, 2009 at 3:44 am #

    Times are really bad now. Just had a meeting at work and was told two people will definently lose their jobs in the next 2 months 😦

  7. mei March 13, 2009 at 5:22 am #

    talking about homeless people here is painful too. But if I see that still many Hugh mall was buildup and still many rich people spending their money for their hunger of euphoria , compare to poor people was nothing =(

    this April of 9th, we will have presidential election. and still, I don’t know which one to choose…

    Agree with Walter said, better days will come ^^

Leave a Reply

