Kawaii Deco Sushi Roll

20 Feb

I was about to reply to the comments to the post on Obama Sushi, but I found additional info. and video that I again wanna share with you.

The Japanese chef who was introduced as Kazari Makizushi (=decorated sushi roll) Instructor and is already buzzed for Obama Sushi, Ken Kawasumi, was also good at that famous character!  You’ll never know what he makes until finally he cuts the roll. 😆

If you’re not familiar with this character, please check to see here and find how well he did it.
He teaches at a cooking school “LAPIN” in Jiyugaoka, Tokyo.  Wow, it’s maybe half an hour distance from my house, but I have no extra time & money to learn it.  😦
For those who cannot reach it, he has published his books in English, too.  Wow, he’s so successful, isn’t he!  If you live in Tokyo, Tokyo Sushi Academy might be good.  Sushi is not just traditional and healthy, but is cool and even kawaii these days!

13 Responses to “Kawaii Deco Sushi Roll”

  1. Destiny February 20, 2009 at 6:32 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this video!! It was awesome!!
    I’m going to attempt to make sushi one time!

  2. Contamination February 20, 2009 at 9:54 pm #

    very cute!

    It’s a shame to eat it.

  3. Walter February 22, 2009 at 11:08 am #

    ❗ Thanks for the video, Kirin-san.
    I have made sushi rolls several times , but the video is very helpful.
    Interesting to see how he uses his thumbs to firmly press down the rice. I’m surprised how few rice keeps sticking to his hands.
    And picking the makisu up with one hand to fold the nori over the roll.
    See how he cleans the knife after every cut : that’s important , because the cut rice sticks to the blade and will rip the nori.

    Of course , you can’t make it without the proper rice. Japanese rice has much more gluten in it , which is why it sticks together so well.
    I found a nice video on preparing it , just like I do it myself.
    Although I tend to cook it for 20 minutes at a very low heat and let it sit in a closed pan for 20 minutes instead of twice 10.
    Ah, the fanning with the left hand while fluffing it up with the right hand 😀 I still have trouble doing that.
    But you have to do it to get that nice shiny rice.

    http://video.about.com/japanesefood/Prepare-Perfect-Sushi-Rice.htm
    Have fun everybody !

  4. Thom February 22, 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    I spent a lot of time in Japan, especially Tokoyo, when I was in the American military service…..way back in the 1950’s.

    I absolutely love your country. It is very similiar in climate to Oregon, where I live.

    I have eaten many types of Japanese food and like it. Keep up the good work on your blog, and the best to you!

  5. kirin February 23, 2009 at 1:29 pm #

    @Destiny, Contamination & Thom,

    Some Japanese foods are like an art, and Sushi is a good example.

    @Walter,

    Oh, the video is a little different from our way.
    Rinse rice like that is not enough. 😉
    For your reference, please check out the authentic Japanese way. 😛

    But I can see you really like cooking! ❗

  6. Dutchie February 23, 2009 at 8:52 pm #

    Fascinating video, Kirin. So much workmanship involved, no wonder it cost so much to eat sushi !

    Thru years of simplifying the process (yes, to save time), I dont use the matting anymore. I spread the cooked rice onto aluminum foil, put in thin strips of cucumber (gives a refreshing flavour), omelet n roast pork in the center n rolled it up. I hv left out the nori bec hubby doesnt like the taste/texture. The 3 colors in the middle looks n taste good. When hubby is abroad, I filled the rice with curried tuna to give it a firery kick ! Hubby cant stand food from the sea, so seafood can only be used when he’s not around.

    So what do u think, can my rice roll still be considered a sushi ?

  7. Walter February 23, 2009 at 10:57 pm #

    Well , for once Kirin , I have to agree and also disagree with you.
    I’ve looked at all the videos and I agree : rinsing your rice in a colander for a few minutes is not enough.

    I disagree with your first movie : I usually wash it till the water is very clear, but not nearly as roughly.
    Unfortunately I can’t understand most what they’re saying;
    maybe I’m missing something.
    Are they cooking mochi in the ricewater ? Nice idea

    As for the movie on sushi rice preparation ; slicing in the liquid with a wetted paddle is correct , stirring would crush the rice, but you need to cool down the rice by fanning asap or it won’t be shiny. ❗
    I have 7 Japanese cookbooks , 3 of which are exclusively about Sushi and all but one written by Japanese. They all say the same : you need to fan.

    How do I do cook my rice ?

    I have experimented with the amount of water , the cooking time etc. to get the best result
    I use 1 large cup of rice with 1,5 large cups of water and I always use the same pot on the same heater.

    I wash one large cup of rice in cold water by repeatedly and calmly pressing down with my palm and pouring the water away at least six times or more till I can see the rice clearly through the water.
    Then I let it sit in a colander for one hour under a towel ( keeps the dust and flies out)
    I put it in a pot with a thick bottom ( spreads the heat better ) with 1,5 cup of water and let it rest for half an hour.
    I put the lid on ( to avoid too much steam escaping you need a tight fit : so I put a 4 kg weight on it 😀 )
    and bring it to a boil on a high heat in 3 – 4 minutes.
    Then I reduce the heat to the lowest possible setting : because it’s electric it takes a few minutes to cool down and start simmering.
    I let it simmer for 20 minutes , turn of the heat, leave the pot on the heater and leave the lid closed for another twenty. Then I use a wooden spoon or a large fork to fluff up the rice . Let it rest at least five more minutes before using it.

    I must also thank you ,because now , in order to answer your comment I’ve for the first time gone and looked up the websites of the rice I have used these past four years : it’s Kokuho rose from Nomura ( http://www.sonray.com/kokuho_rose%20page.htm)
    I’d love to compare it to the Koda original , but I can’t find it here (yet).
    However , when I look at their site http://www.kodafarms.com/recipes_cooking.html, the preparation and cooking of rice in a pot is almost exactly how I do it .
    Unbelievable, I could have found out the right way so much quicker 😳 but I’m also proud because I did it my way 😎

    Koda farms says there’s a fundamental difference between cooking rice in a pot and in an automatic cooker.
    Automatic is better. Excuse me ?
    One day I’ll buy a cooker ( I must have the Zojirushi Neuro Fuzzy NSZCC-10 . No other is worthy enough ! 😀 ) and I’ll find out.

    Awmygod, this is an awfully long comment.
    Sumimasen , Kirin-san, but as you said it , I really like cooking.

  8. kirin February 24, 2009 at 1:18 pm #

    @Dutchie,

    Nori, or seaweed is not easily accepted especially at Western countries. That’s the reason California roll has a Nori inside the rice. (Japanese roll sushi has seaweed outside the rice, as you can see in the video or photos.)They don’t want to see or eat the “black paper” and so California roll just hid it inside. That’s a story I heard of. 😛

    I think sushi can be any creative, and that’s why it is loved in the world. 🙂

    @Walter,

    Wow, long comment. 🙄 And you’re right. 😉
    I should’ve mentioned the video somehow didn’t have a process to cool down the rice with fan. As for rice cooker, I wouldn’t say it’s better than pot. Actually pot is better, but to save time most of us use rice cooker. Rice cooker also is getting better and better. I have a related post at my old blog. (http://jcdrkawaii.blogspot.com/2008/05/rice-cooker-costs-over-us1000.html)

    You really have passion for cooking ❗ I think your effort is great. 😀 You collect information and try the best by yourself, which I can see how much you love cooking! As for me, I’m not studying anything about cooking, and so, maybe I was making mistakes or speaking wrong in some points. 😛

  9. erardrixjal February 24, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

    Thank you!

  10. Jason K. August 30, 2009 at 9:13 pm #

    How long have you been blogging…your good at it.

  11. sushi tarifi November 25, 2010 at 12:50 am #

    Looks very delicious. super sushi

    Thanks

  12. snsd hoot December 18, 2010 at 5:42 am #

    Youre so correct. Im there with you. Your blog is surely really worth a read if anyone comes across it. Im fortunate I did due to the fact now Ive acquired a whole new view of this. I didnt realise that this concern was so crucial and so universal. You certainly put it in viewpoint for me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Best sort of Sushi for home party Tokyo Kawaii etc | Cast Iron Cookware - May 26, 2009

    […] Best sort of Sushi for home party Tokyo Kawaii etc Posted by root 15 hours ago (http://tokyokawaiietc.com) I must also thank you because now in order to answer your comment i 39 ve for the first time gone and design by pressweb design powered by wordpress Discuss  |  Bury |  News | best sort of sushi for home party tokyo kawaii etc […]

Leave a Reply

