Kyoto reminds me that I'm a Japanese.

24 Jan

I’m back from my Onsen (hot spring) & sightseeing trip from west Japan (Kyoto, Osaka & Wakayama) the other day and here I am again! πŸ™‚ I’ve got some nice photos that I took in Kyoto and in Onsen when nobody but I was out there, and I’d be willing to share them with my blog readers here. I think I should make use of my Flickr account and update it with latest nice photos, too.

To be honest, I know I tend to have new things and dislike olds. In that way, Kyoto, a good old historical city, was far from my interest to me until this time. Then you’d think why. I was supposed to go pick up my grandma in Osaka and take her to Wakayama Onsen spot with my dad. I could buy a bullet train ticket only, however, sometimes hotel can be booked so reasonably with a set of train ticket. So I decided to have another night at Kyoto before I head for Osaka.

I’ve been grown up in Tokyo area, not exactly in Tokyo but 30 – 60 minutes is good enough to allow me to get somewhere in Tokyo, and so, the Kyoto scenery even touched my feelings and that strongly reminds me of being a Japanese. I’d never have such thoughts in my ordinary, busy, realistic and digital life in/around Tokyo.

Isn’t this cool? Just one simple Kanji tells that we have to be quiet on this narrow street. The black/yellow stripes are little too outstanding from the atmosphere, but that would be for catching attention, I guess…

Strolling around Kyoto alone was so fun to me. I never knew where I was brought to, when I just followed my curiosity. I wish I had more free time out there, but I was just walking & walking until it got dark and I got tired.Well, so much for today, and I’ll continue my post on the trip next time!
Also, I’ve updated a further detailed post in “travel & eat-out in Japan” page for your reference, if you’re interested in. πŸ˜‰
4 Responses to “Kyoto reminds me that I'm a Japanese.”

  1. Walter January 24, 2009 at 10:37 pm #

    Hi Kirin, thanks for the nice pictures. πŸ™‚ They look like something straight out of an Ukiyo-e print or an historical manga (like Rurouni Kenshin (placed in early Meiji period)).

    Kyoto’s narrow streets remind me of our Belgian cities, where for the past 20 years , the historical centers have been made free of traffic, walking only zones.
    And , like you , when I walk there, I’m reminded of my Belgian roots, which is a feeling I don’t get in the modern parts , where it’s all glass and concrete.

    I’d love to visit Kyoto. It is of course , a must-see for first time visitors to Japan πŸ˜‰
    I’ll be looking forward to your next pictures. πŸ˜€
    BTW how did Pi-chan survive the pet-hotel ?

  2. kirin January 26, 2009 at 2:07 pm #

    @Walter,

    Yes, Kyoto is an old city. It used to be a centre of Japan until it’s replaced by Tokyo. It was the first time for me to visit there since our school trip from jr. high school, and that time, I remember I was bored with shrines, temples, and old historical things on and on… Things look different when we get aged πŸ˜€

    Speaking of Pi-chan, she was doing great! Thank you.
    The pet hotel has an in-house dogrun where she had good time playing with other small dogs all the time. πŸ˜‰

  3. freedomwv January 29, 2009 at 9:11 am #

    Those are some really nice photos. Good write up as well.

  4. kalistaneoma November 15, 2009 at 5:45 pm #

    Great Kyoto thank you I love that pics

Leave a Reply

