Happy holidays!

25 Dec

It’s the end of the year, and we’re supposed to prepare for the new year after cleaning up the house, and decorate the entrance of the house with small new year decorations as in the photo, which start to be sold recently.

Originally, Christmas is an event that was brought from Western culture, and so it’s just like a shopping event in this country. You can see that Christmas is not even a holiday here. We have to work on that day! ๐Ÿ˜†
I always see how people change from Christmas to new year with cold smile. After playing Christmas songs over and over again anywhere, any shops in the city since 1st of November to 25th of December until I feel that was way toooooo much, sales clerks’ wearing Santa costume without any hesitation, and people rush to buy “Christmas cake”…

I know that they totally behave as if nothing happened on the very next day of Christmas and change decorations to new-year one. I’m kinda person who may be interested in left-over Christmas cakes, meaning where they are going. Christmas cakes being available after Christmas should value nothing. I’d buy some for discount! ๐Ÿ˜†

Anyway, this change does change the air; from Western ways of decoration with Christmas songs in English to Japanese ways of decoration with Japanese new-year songs.

I thought I can finally have a good volume of time to maintain my blog, but what happened to me was, somehow it takes too much time these days for each action in the web. When I click to leave a comment in other blogs, I have to wait for a minute or more to have the screen opened. When I try to open another site in another tab, it takes a few minutes to have them visible. That’s so stressful and I just cannot live with that any longer! So I think I have to clean up inside the laptop in this holiday season… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Holiday must be something fun, but as I get old, holiday is a time to concentrate on the task that I cannot do usually. I need a break. I know. I’ll take a trip in west Japan around the end January which I think I can report in the related page of this blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy holidays!

6 Responses to “Happy holidays!”

  1. lunaticg December 25, 2008 at 3:35 am #

    Hi!
    wish you a happy holiday and a happy merry x-mas.
    See you around.

  2. Jeshii December 25, 2008 at 2:03 pm #

    ใƒกใƒชใ‚ฏใƒช๏ฝž

    ๆฅๅนดใ‚‚ใ‚ˆใ‚ใ—ใใŠ้ก˜ใ„ใ„ใŸใ—ใพใ™๏ฝ๏ผˆ๏ผฟ๏ผฟ๏ผ‰๏ฝ

    I know my levels of politeness are WAY different in those two statements, but I think it reflects the mood of each.

    And nothing better than free cheap shortcake! Good luck!

  3. Dutchie December 25, 2008 at 2:17 pm #

    Hi Kirin,

    It’s too bad that u hv to work, knowing that most of the world population is having a jolly day or two off ! The dutch has Christmas Day 1 n Day 2 .. plus the weekends that follows, we hv indeed a vey long rest ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s mainly a family gathering to eat n watch TV. My only bro-in-law is doing his own thing with his wife n daughter, so it’s just me n hubby toasting the event with finger food n warm tea ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    Christmas in Singapore was much more fun bec we could go to clubs to celebrate in a very christmacy atmosphere.

    Like u said, as one grows older, we r glad to hv the extra time off to catch up on things that needs our attention.

    Anyway, u hv the new year to look forward to (we r celebrating the chinese new year on 26 January as well). I would like to wish u n ur hubby a happy n prosperous New Year ! A big hug for Pi-chan too ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Walter December 27, 2008 at 10:12 pm #

    Hi Kirin.
    I hope you have a nice end of year. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’m finally getting around to cleaning and reorganizing around the house myself.
    Christmas in the shops from the 1st of November is way too early, I agree. We see the same here.
    Anyway, don’t overdo the cleaning : try to relax a little ๐Ÿ˜Ž
    The work won’t run away , like my neighbor always says.
    If you don’t get it done today, do it tomorrow or next week or next life ๐Ÿ˜€
    Bye

  5. Riko December 30, 2008 at 9:18 am #

    Hi Kirin!
    How ya doing?
    I haven’t been here for a while..
    Anyway, happy new year to you..
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. kirin December 31, 2008 at 1:55 am #

    Thank you for your kind comments,
    lunaticg, Jeshii, Dutchie, Walter, and Riko!

    In the past few days I recovered from malfunction of this laptop computer! (Actually I didn’t, my hubby did for me)
    Deleting everything from the computer and installing the softs again was a heavy task! Moreover I lost mailing list from one mail system by mistake, as well as bookmark with full of the URL list that I carried with IE7. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

    Well, I’d accept that. I was supposed to clean-up the old habits and connections and now I think I’ll regain what I really need in 2009.

    Finally I’ve got some time for this blog ๐Ÿ˜›
    I have another blog in Japanese (as in blogroll) in which I keep writing about my sweet puppy dog “Pi-chan” (as Dutchie mentions in her comment).
    This holiday also allows me to update that blog.

    Well, thank you all for your kind comments ๐Ÿ™‚
    I wish you have great time in this holiday, and happy new year with love, peace and joy!

    Hope to have you back and around all the time in 2009.

Leave a Reply

