dedication to the Gods "festival"?

13 Oct

It looks like a festival or something (Matsuri 祭り)that took place in a shrine near my apartment every year in this season. But it is a dedication to the Gods, not a festival as far as I read the flags.
As you can see, there are stands that sell banana+chocolate, noodle, cotton cany, fried chicken, goldfish scooping and so on, which is just like a festival or something.
Even cotton candy could be Hello Kitty! Our life is so filled with kawaii around. Just using Kitty bag, the candy can be sold well at highter price, hahaha…
10 Responses to “dedication to the Gods "festival"?”

  1. Ivy October 14, 2008 at 12:30 pm #

    I see a lot of matsuri on anime and manga. I’d love to go to a summer matsuri in a yukata. Or maybe I’ll skip on the yukata. They’re soooo uncomfortable. T__T

  2. Tom October 14, 2008 at 1:58 pm #

    I just had ampanman cotton candy this weekend!

  3. kirin October 16, 2008 at 12:20 pm #

    @Tom,
    😀 Hahaha! That’s cute! I somehow don’t like to eat cotton candy since I was a kid, so it sounds kinda pleasant to imagine an adult man like you buys a cotton candy and moreover it’s Ampampan. *kawaii~* (*0*)

    @Ivy,
    Have you tried Yukata before and just didn’t like it?
    Actually me, either. As I mentioned before I learned how to play Japanese Koto (musical instrument) in my childhood and whenever I played it in public I had to wear Kimono (more formal version of Yukata) and much make-up, which was sooo uncomfortable especially for 5-year-old little girl and since then I really dislike Yukata or Kimono, even make-up, too! This doesn’t change any even though I grew up.

  4. Ivy October 16, 2008 at 2:37 pm #

    Yes I had to wear yukata when I had to perform a Japanese folk song on stage. You probably know it. It goes “ho ho hotaru koi, atchi no mizu wa nigai zo.” The lady who helped me wear it tied it soooo tightly I could barely breathe! T__T

    But I’d still like to own a yukata! It’s so pretty!

  5. Rwen October 18, 2008 at 12:34 am #

    I’ve dreamt of furisode since I was a little girl. They strike me as so beautiful and cheerful! I don’t know if I’d be able to wear it and find it comfortable, but I also actually enjoy to wear corsets, so I probably wouldn’t mind too much (I can imagine the sleeves being a bother, though).

    I’ve also always wanted to go to a festival like that! Here, we don’t really have festivals.. Lots of interesting Halloween events though!

  6. Riko October 18, 2008 at 10:12 am #

    Haha, i like the hello kitty cotton candy. That’s rare. Hehe 😛

  7. kirin October 18, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    @Ivy,
    Oh, your Japanese goes so well by now as to be able to sing such a song? I can imagine you can learn a new language faster. 🙂 I remember your previous blog design was like Yukata design! It’s so cute girls wear Yukata for dating in summer here, especially when they go to see Hanabi (firework). As for me, unfortunately, never…hahaha 😆

    @Rwen,
    Kimono or Yukata seem to attract foreigners, as they are so beautiful. Furisode is supporsed to be worn by unmarried women, and so, it’s common that we wear it at coming-of-age ceremony, which is the year we become 20-year-old. (In Japan age 20 is considered adult, not 21 as in the U.S)

    So did I wear Furisode when I became 20?
    NO! At that year I was in the U.S to study and I didn’t feel like going back only to join the ceremony and return to the U.S again. So I missed the chance then. Hahaha… 😆

    @Riko,
    It just seems so natural that cotton candy is sold with Hello Kitty bag, or Ampanman bag, or whatsoever, you name it…
    here in Japan. Maybe things like this sold WITHOUT kawaiiness can be RARE in here. 😆

  8. Dutchie October 19, 2008 at 2:42 pm #

    Erm .. what’s the diff between a kimono, yukata n a furisode ?

    I couldn’t resist buying a kimono when I was last in Tokyo. Trouble is, when I got home, I realised then that I needed help to get dressed in one. Any tips on how to wear all the pieces ?

  9. kirin October 22, 2008 at 2:28 pm #

    @Dutchie,

    Furisode is kinda ceremonial kimono especially for unmarried women to wear. Yukata is casual version of Kimono.

    The problem is the same here. We have to learn how to get dressed in Kimono if we wanna wear without help.
    (There are Kimono school in Japan!)
    When it comes to Yukata, there are some convenient goods sold. For example, Obi (belt) is prefixed to a ribbon shape for easy & casual wearing.

    If you chose Yukata instead of Kimono, it should be easier, but when it comes to Kimono, even we have to learn it at school. Sometimes elder Japanese ladies living overseas know how to, so you may wanna look for someone like that in your local area.

  10. Dutchie October 28, 2008 at 4:28 pm #

    Tks for the info Kirin 🙂

Leave a Reply

