kawaii credit card

8 Oct

Speaking of kawaii bank card or train pass, I came across kawaii credit card that has as many as 100 kind of designs and is now available at Marui.

Living in Japan, it’s quite natural to have kawaii designed items whether the owner is adult or kid. “Kawaii” (cute or adorable) is not only for kids to have. Even grown-up adult can shamelessly enjoy having kawaii things in public.

This is our culture and that’s why we see characters and kawaii illustrations or designs anywhere everyday from a candy to a bank card, a plate that we can get by collecting a couple of stickers whenever we purchase bread, boots keeper as in the below photo, and more and more, almost ceaselessly.
.

Boots keeper is convenient to keep boots in good shape. But it’s not only that. Usually it has some kind of fillings that absorbs “smell”. In addition to such basic functions being cute, inexpensive, and you can choose from any famous characters like in the photo or maybe just a dog one like mine is also cute enough!
.
These are my boots keepers.
6 Responses to “kawaii credit card”

  1. Ivy October 9, 2008 at 10:52 am #

    Hi Kirin!

    The Marui cards are really cool!! I saw so many designs that I would love to own!! I need to work in Japan to get me one of those. Hahahahaha!! (I don’t think that’s a good enough reason to work in Japan tho. Hahaha)

    Anyway, I would actually love to live in Japan one day (for a short while). From what I see, the Japanese have a very unique history and culture. I’m actually not very interested in the modern Japanese culture. I like the ancient stuff like the language, ikebana and the Shinto religion. The Japanese language has borrowed words from the Chinese, but I think the Japanese preserved the words better than the Chinese. (Chinese words have become too modernized.) So, I would definitely enjoy living in Japan for a while.

    Anyway, those boot keepers are really useful!!!

  2. Duni October 12, 2008 at 6:52 am #

    Hi Kirin,

    I’m all grown up but I love cute and kawaii anyway! Cool blog! 😀

  3. Ageless October 12, 2008 at 10:45 am #

    Those are cute. I grew up liking Sanrio stuff and I still do. 🙂

  4. kirin October 13, 2008 at 5:12 am #

    @Ivy,
    I know you’re very much interested in language. It’d be fun for you to learn Japanese as it’s got history and some relationships between Chinese and Korean. In fact I can see there are words of similar pronunciation with Korean, such as “washing machine” (sentakuki)

    BTW I know how to play Japanese musical instrument, KOTO and SHAMISEN since I’ve learned them from the age of 5 to 13.
    These are totally something old and we can barely hear these music in our daily life except new year day. So my skills for these have never been used since I quit them 😕

    @Duni,
    Thanks for your visit. I can see your works are kawaii, and so I imagined you’d love cute things…hahaha 😉

    @Ageless,
    Sanrio and San-X are 2 major kawaii companies and they have expanded their sales outside Japan so well, which I didn’t know until I started blogging in English. 🙂

  5. Riko October 18, 2008 at 10:19 am #

    one of the reason i like japan because of the kawaiiness surrounds. Everything must be in the concept of KAWAIINESS. 🙂 but i like the ancient cultures as well so the modern one. the boot keepers is such an adorable keeper for the boots. 😉 and i like the kawaii credit card. with some designs on it, we might not get bored with it.
    🙂

  6. kirin October 18, 2008 at 1:38 pm #

    @Riko,
    That’s so true. We are surrounded by kawaiiness.
    Being kawaii is so natural in here. That’s not regarded childish or absurd in Japan, and so our feeling could go numb against the feeling that western people might have against kawaiiness.

Leave a Reply

