What does moe mean?

17 Sep
what does moe mean?

what does moe mean?

Disclaimer: The photo is originally from Akiba Keizai Shimbun
This book titled in Japanese, saying “Eigo de Akihabara wo syoukaisuru hon”, meaning “Guiding Your Firends Around Akihabara in English” is about to be released.

To be honest, I don’t know much about Akihabara (you can call it “Akiba” too) since I personally do not read manga comics or dress myself with cosplay clothing, but I have to admit that I’m interested to know what’s so fascinating about this subculure.

According to the Akiba Keizai Shimbun article, the book tells the story that a Japanese family welcomes an American family with a touch of otaku taste, and takes them to Akiba. The conversation between these families are written both in Japanese and in English, which includes some settings like shopping figure toys, or electric appliances, etc. as well as going to a maid cafe, and more seriously, telling a history of Akihabara and Japan.

The background of this book release has something to do with “gap” that the PR manager of the book has been feeling. Akiba is considered even COOL to foreign tourists, to the contrary, it is regarded with some negative images by most of Japanese people who don’t know it very well.

Well actually I am part of those people, and so there should be something I have missed or mislead about Akiba. As each person has different image against “kawaii”, I know there are some find kawaii against anime characters or maid cosplay. I like to be open to diversified kawaii feelings when I write this blog, so even the taste is not my kawaii, I like to deal with Akiba topics as well as Harajuku topics.

One Response to “What does moe mean?”

  1. Bleach Hentai March 21, 2013 at 8:23 am #

    girls a moe!

Leave a Reply

